How Google will ruin Peking Duck for you forever

Well, I did it again. I Googled a delicious foreign delicacy that I love, only to find out that I’m basically a monster for eating it.

I once did this with the French luxury food, Foie Gras. After spending one morning Youtubing how it’s made, I spent the rest of the day in a corner rocking in the fetal position.

And now, I’ve just ruined Peking Duck, too.

Beijing/Peking Duck

This famous Chinese duck dish has been served on plates in China since the Imperial Era and is prized for its crispy skin an oh-so tender meat.

Stopping off at a local Peking Duck restaurant in Beijing, with my hubby and inlaws, we are treated to the works.

We order a whole duck to share and are seated in a private room with fancy chopsticks and chair covers.

As tradition goes, the duck is sliced in front of us, the diner guests, into about 100 thin slices of meat.

IMG_0163.JPG

On the table are a bevy of side dishes including; cucumber sticks, scallion, sweet bean sauce, bok choy and pancakes.

IMG_0166

We place a few key ingredients into our little pancakes and a waitress shows us how to seal them, without using our hands. Like magic!

IMG_0165

The whole meal is delicious.

Well, was delicious.


Why you should never Google the food you love

Eager to make Peking duck myself, I began with a simple Google search.

But I found something a little more sinister than an easy 8 step Beijing Duck recipe.

Apparently, the ducks (typically, the White Beijing Duck) are specially bred for the dish and have a lifespan of a mere 40 – 65 days before slaughter.

In order for the meat to be fat and tender, the ducks are force-fed four times a day, and kept in very small spaces.

This results in each duck weighing between 5 – 7 kgs, not in the normal, healthy weight range, as you may have guessed.

So, basically I’m eating an unhappy, obese duck, which comes from a factory chain of unhappy, obese ducks.

Dammit, Google.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. spack60 says:

    Poor ducky 😕

    Like

  2. Mark Clulow says:

    That’s exactly WHY you should Google the food you love. Ever since I watched “Cowspiracy” and “Earthlings” I stopped eating animal products instantly and forever. It was one of the largest and simplest changes that ever happened to me. A light came on in my brain and I no longer desired the life of another fellow earthling to get my energy.
    I am fitter, happier and healthier than ever before and I only regret the 35 years before I ‘evolved’! ^_^

    Thanks for sharing this post all the same – I used to be a HUGE fan of the Beijing Duck ‘delicacy’

    Like

Leave a Reply

