My Crazy China Birth Story – Part Two

Pregnancy pop quiz!

“How much time do you have after your waters break before you go into labour?”

A few hours? Half a day? Mere minutes?

How about, EIGHT DAYS.

Welcome to Part Two of my Crazy China Birth Story.


What’s happened, so far…

At 34 weeks, my waters broke at home in Zhuhai, China. But after a doctor at a local hospital refused to believe I was having a baby we decided to chance it –  rushing aboard a boat to Hong Kong.

Hong Kong.png

More: Read Part One of My Crazy China Birth Story.

At the time, we were thankful to have made it to the English-speaking island.

Little did we know, we had plenty of time, and hardship, ahead.



So, why the week-long wait?

From what *reliable* online medical resources tell me, after your waters break, 95% of women go into labour naturally within 24 hours.

pnmqn

If not, your doctor will likely recommend you are induced soon so as to reduce the risk of any infection.

BUT when your waters break before 37 weeks, you’re classified as “PPROM” or (Pre-term Pre-labour Rupture of Membranes). This happens to about 3% of women. Lucky me!

So for me, it was an agonizing 192 hours of uncertainty, blood tests, monitoring and waiting in hospital.

This, all in an effort, to mature my baby girl’s lungs and give her the best fighting chance when she makes her entrance into the world.


Between Heaven and Hell

I’m beyond spoilt at Matilda Hospital.

IMG_6112
One of many wheelchair tours around the hospital parking lot.

I’m doted upon by the nurses at the five-star hotel hospital, and there is a menu à-la-carte that I can order from for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The food apparently comes from the Shangri-La restaurant.

And then there’s dat view.

13340799_10153517818557051_1675710598_o.jpg
Stormy afternoon vue from my hospital bed.

 

And yet, there are some not-so-great things.

For starters, I’ve become a human pin cushion; pumped full of IV antibiotics to starve off infection, countless blood tests and THREE steroid injections.

(Anyone will tell you the pain of these injections on a scale of 1 – 10 is on about a ‘Oh-Lord-Jesus, make it stop’ level).

IMG_6067
“Make a sexy look with your tummy monitors” Result.

Monitoring the baby’s heartbeat several times a day and then, all night long, I sport this fashionable belt, married with this gorgeous seafoam hospital robe.

But the cherry on top is that I am put in a room directly next door to the delivery suites!

So each night, I am gently soothed to sleep by the loud screams and moans of laboring women.

Sweet dreams.

Jokes aside, the scariest thing by far, is not knowing if our baby will be OK.

A visit from a pediatrician does little to allay my concerns, as she begins listing all the possible scenarios after birth.

“She may not be able to breathe on her own”

“She may need a feeding tube”

“You may not be able to hold her”

“She may need to go straight to NCIU at another hospital”.

I obviously break down into tears.


Oh, baby! It’s time to go!

After more than a week of waiting, I’m finally getting induced.

IMG_6167
I said I wanted a natural birth.. but well, now I’m totally TEAM Epidural.

I have a slow-drip epidural and labour-inducing drugs, simultaneously.

I feel my stomach becoming as hard as a basketball as I watch the contractions on the monitor, feeling nothing.

I love epidurals.

url

My husband, and both our Mums, are in the delivery room and together we wait, we eat, we wait, we talk, watch a movie we wait.

I stand up. I sway. I bounce around on the exercise ball. I sleep.

But after trying for 15 hours, I have dilated diddley squat.

This is known as a “failure to progress” and the nurses begin prepping me for a C-section.


Wait and See Section 

I’m devastated. A C-section?  This is not how I wanted things to happen.

I must take off all my jewelry and sign a consent form before going into the operating room downstairs.

My OB arrives, but instead of taking me into theatre, she says she wants to “give it one last try” naturally.

She gives me an examination to help along the cervix and then puts me into the very flattering ‘cow position’ to try and encourage the baby out.

I stay on all fours determined not to move. (Not even turning around for a blood test, which they had to take from my hand).

A short time later, I feel it. She’s coming!

After another examination, the doctor snaps off her gloves and says, “It’s time to push”.

About 15 minutes later, our daughter Sasha arrives. Perfectly healthy… and 2.6 kilos!

Hallelujahamen.

I. Need. A. Drink.

13173934_10153383382241566_2654119236908483840_n

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Asahela says:

    Congratulations on the birth of your baby ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Who Moved My Dumpling says:

      Thank-you! So glad she arrived safely, even if it was fashionably late 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! I’m so happy for your new addition to your family. I fully enjoyed reading this post! On to part two!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Who Moved My Dumpling says:

      Glad you liked the post! I’m sure I’ll bring up this story at her 18th birthday 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Gill says:

    Well done Laura – congratulations to you both. Particularly love the last picture 🙂 Gill

    Like

  4. Miss Debs says:

    Mate. The food sounds great, but the rest…That is quite a story!

    Like

  5. Vahid says:

    Having been born in HK, can your child obtain Hong Kong residency rights?

    Like

Leave a Reply

