How to make a Chinese Fruit Lantern

Growing up in Australia, I never had a Halloween.

I know, the struggle is real.

It wasn’t until 20-odd years later that I got the chance to celebrate: dressing up, eating until I couldn’t feel my face, and making terrifying desserts.

It was also the first time I got to carve up a pretty pumpkin!

So when my Mandarin teacher mentioned that a tradition in China is to make “fruit lanterns” for the Mid-Autumn Festival, well, I was on board to say the least.

She did, however, add that it was a tradition for children, but shut-up brain, I’m having fun.

So now with a dull knife in one hand and a giant pomelo in the other – let’s get cracking!

First things first: Cut the pomelo into four quarters.
First things first: Cut the pomelo into four quarters.

Don’t cut all the way down – leave about 10cm on either side.

Easier said than done: Take all the flesh out.
Easier said than done: Take all the flesh out.

You can use a knife and spoon but I just ended up using my hand as it’s a lot easier.

The online time being empty inside is a good thing.
The only time being empty inside is a good thing.
Carve it up: I went for three round holes (mooncakes).
Carve it up: I went for three round holes (mooncakes).

I also carved out an owl. It started as a rabbit…

Pop a candle in ...
Pop a candle in …
Et voilà! Time to show off your mad skills to the other kids.
Et voilà! Time to show off your mad skills … to the other kids.
Leave a Reply

